PDP”‘ll take over Anambra, 2019 Presidency – Fayose

115 0

*Party fails to agree on consensus Chair in Enugu


The Governor of Ekiti State and Chairman of PDP Governors Forum, Ayodele Fayose, has boasted that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) now has all it takes not only to win the forthcoming November 18 Governorship election in Anambra State, but that the party is equally formidable enough to take over the Presidency in 2019.

This was even as efforts by 11 PDP Governors, in conjunction with the National Chairman of the party, and major stakeholders to adopt a consensus Chairman ahead of the party’s December National Convention, ended in stalemate.

Briefing journalists at the end of a stretchy meeting of the governors with select major stakeholders at the Government House, Enugu, Fayose also disclosed that the y also met with the Chairmanship aspirants of the party who have unanimously agreed to support whomever that emerged as Chairman at the December 2017 National Convention of the party.

“We gathered here in Enugu, the Coal City State, to deliberate on our forthcoming National Convention. With also took time out to meet with our Chairmanship aspirants, believing that we are going to have a convention that all other political parties would emulate – convention that would represent the word, democracy, and serve as template for other political parties”, he said.

“We are leaving Enugu today, believing that that PDP will take over power in 2019; we have equally agreed, believing that we have all it takes to to take over Anambra in the November 18 governorship election”, the governor stated.

On the Anambra guber and future elections in the country, the party demanded for free, fair and credible processes, pointing out that the November 18 exercise in Anambra must be “credible and seen to be credible”.

Those at the meeting were All the 11 PDP Governors except that of Ebony State, David Umahi, who was represented by his deputy; National Caretaker Chairman of the party, Ahmed Makarfi, Deputy President of the Senate, Ike Ekweremmadu, and Senate Minority Leader Godswill Akpabio as well as the PDP Chairmanship aspirants.

Others are Former governors Sule Lamido, Gabriel Suswam and Peter Obi; senators Adolphus Wabara, Ben Obi, Jena Choker, as well as Chief Tom Ikimi among several others.

related posts