Akwa Ibom gives labour negotiation committee 30 days to submit complaints

[From INI BILLIE, Uyo]

Akwa Ibom Government has given the negotiation committee 30 days to submit a comprehensive report on the complaints by the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC).

The committee which was set up by the government followed threats by the NLC to embark on an indefinite strike within 14 days, if the government falis to resolve some issues relating to workers in the state.

The 14-day ultimatum started from midnight of Tuesday, 27th October 2020.

Speaking through a press release signed and made available to newsmen on Friday in Uyo, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Comrade Ini Ememobong said the committee would negotiate the 13 points demands of the NLC and submit the report to government within 30 days.

See also  Piracy in Nigerian waters, Gulf of Guinea drops in 17yrs, says Navy

He mentioned that the committee was headed by the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Mr Ephraim Inyangeyen and the State Chairman of NLC, Comrade Sunny James, for the government and labour respectively.

He stated that the government’s lead person, Inyangeyen has promised that the objectives of the committee would be pursued in good faith.

He said, “A joint Government and Labour committee to negotiate issues affecting the Labour force in the state has been set up.

“The Committee is to negotiate the 13 points demands of the NLC and submit a comprehensive report within 30 days to the Governor for necessary action.

See also  FG opens negotiations with World Bank for financing of proposed vaccine plant

“The committee is headed on the government side by the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Akparawa Ephraim A. Inyangeyen, assisted by the Head of the Civil Service, Elder Efiong Essien and the Honourable Commissioner for Labour and manpower planning, Hon. Pastor Sunny Ibuot.

“While Labour side will be led by the Chairman of the Nigerian Labour Congress, Akwa Ibom State, Comrade Sunny James, assisted by the NLC Secretary and Treasurer, Comrade Iboro Ibara, Comrade Effiong Nya, respectively and the representative of the Joint Public Sector Negotiation Committee, Comrade Tina Essien”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *