Abia State House of Assembly

Bill to establish State College of Nursing and Sciences scales first reading, as Assembly probes Abia Poly de-accreditation


[From BONIFACE OKORO, Umuahia]

A Bill, H.A.B 59, to establish the Abia State College of Nursing and Sciences, on Wednesday, August 3, 2022, passed its First Reading in the Abia State House of Assembly.

Abia State House of Assembly

During plenary, the Abia State Legislators considered the bill, which has become necessary following the loss of accreditation by both the Abia State University (ABSU) College of Medicine; and Abia State Polytechnic, Aba, was introduced following the need for an alternative specialised institution to cater for the academic needs of Abians in the area of Nursing and other related fields.

The envisaged Abia State College of Nursing and Sciences, which bill passed its First Reading, is expected to also serve as an additional institution to meet the ever growing needs of Abians seeking careers in Nursing and related fields.  

Meanwhile, Abia legislature has frowned at the loss of accreditation by College of Medicine, Abia State University, Uturu, (ABSU).

It has therefore mandated its Committee on Health to turn in its report on the loss of accreditation by the College.

The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji, expressed the feelings of the lawmakers during Wednesday’s plenary and urged the committee to turn in the report at the next legislative sitting.

The Speaker also frowned at the loss of accreditation of Abia State Polytechnic, Aba and said the House would be visiting the institution soon to conduct an on-the-spot assessment of the situation.

The Speaker then announced the setting up of an Ad Hoc Committee that would thoroughly scrutinise how funds released to the institution by the government were expended with a view to helping in finding solutions to the crisis that led to the loss of its accreditation.

The seven-member Ad Hoc Committee has Hon. Emeka Okoroafor as Chairman; with Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Francis Uchendu, Hon. Paul Taribo, Hon. Mike Ukoha, Hon. Godwin Adiele, Hon. A.C Thomas Nkoro and Hon. Nnamdi Allen Nwachukwu as members.

According to the Speaker, the Clerk has been saddled with the responsibility of appointing a Secretary for the Committee and they are to turn in their report in the next two weeks.

The Speaker said all recommendations from the Committee would be forwarded to the Executive for their action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.