Flying Eagles

CAF awards Flying Eagles U-20 AFCON Fair Play prize


Confederation of African Football (CAF) has awarded Nigeria’s junior national team, the Flying Eagles, the 2023 Fair Play award at the just-concluded 23rd edition of the U-20 AFCON tournament in Egypt.

Flying Eagles

The Flying Eagles had also clinched the bronze medal after beating Tunisia by 4-0, last Friday.

Senegal won the trophy in an all-West African final match, played last Saturday at the Cairo International Stadium, defeating The Gambia by 2-0.

The Flying Eagles have now won bronze for a record four times in the same competition.

All four semi-finalists, including Nigeria, Tunisia, Senegal and The Gambia have also qualified to represent Africa at the U20 World Cup, later this year.

In awarding the Flying Eagles the Fair Play prize, CAF said the Nigerian team displayed professionalism, dedication, passion and discipline during the U-20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

CAF Technical Study Group (TSG) of the tournament named the Flying Eagles for the award after the conclusion of the tournament.

They were awarded the prize after the final between Senegal and Gambia at the Cairo International Stadium on Saturday night.

The Flying Eagles who are the current WAFU-B champions beat the Young Carthage Eagles 4-0 to win bronze.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.