Venatius Ikem (middle) declared winner of the election as chairman of the Cross River State chapter of the PDP

Delegates elect Venatius Ikem chairman, PDP Cross River



About 2,000 delegates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have elected Venatius Ikem, Esq, as the new State Chairman of the party. 

Ballot counting by delegates

Venatius Ikem, a former national publicity secretary of the party emerged through an affirmative vote by the party.

His election marks the end of months of crisis within the party which say the State governor Professor Ben Ayade ditching the party over control of party structures.

Venatius Ikem (middle) declared winner of the election as chairman of the Cross River State chapter of the PDP

Speaking after his election, Venatius Ikem the chairman -elect said he is humbled by the election, be a servant leader and his doors will always remain open.

He commended delegates for putting their trust in him and promised not to fail.

“I am just your humble servant leader and my doors will always remain open.

“There was a total consensus agreement by everyone and this congress fulfills it.

“I hope to reinvigorate all the organs of the party from the ward level up to the highest level.

“I will also extend my hand of fellowship to all aggrieved members to come back, I also left but came back and elevated to the position of chairman-elect”, he said.

Speaking while declaring him winner, Chairman of the Congress Committee Oke Muo Aro commended delagates for the peaceful conduct of the exercise.

The outgoing caretaker Committee Chairman of the party, Efiok Cobham said he will give his all  to make the incoming exco succeed at their disposal.

He flayed the APC government in the state saying they were denied various venues to conduct their Congress.

He said the present administration in the state enjoyed the highest goodwill of the party but choose to pay them back with so much ingratitude.

He however charged party faithful to work in concert to reclaim the state.

The incoming PDP state executive has 39 members with 2 members each drawn from the 18 local government areas of the state and three from the Senatorial zones of the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.