Lagos Assembly begins audit of all 57 councils

Lagos House of Assembly (LSHA) has kicked-off the audit of all the 57 local councils comprising 20 Local Government Areas (LGAs) and the 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

Lagos House of Assembly (LSHA) Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa

Chairman, House Committee on Public Account (Local), Mr Mojeed Fatai, who disclosed this in a statement, added that that the committee is expected to submit its report to the House after the weeklong exercise.

The lawmaker explained that the audit is aimed at checking probity and accountability in the local government administration as provided in the 1999 (Amended) Constitution.

“The essence of the exercise is to allow the committee to go through the 2019 report of the Auditor-General without fear or favour to any local council indicted by the officials of the Auditor-General.

See also  Cross River cancels 2021 Calabar Carnival over insecurity, Covid-19 Omicron variant

“Also, the committee has the power to summon any person to give evidence at any place or produce any document or other things in his possession or under his control.

“This is in consonance with the need for effective and best practices in the pursuit of its statutory objectives as mandated by the committee to carry out this exercise without bias and with conformity with the standard best practices.”

According to Fatai, letters have already been sent to all the 57 councils who on their part are expected to come with copies of the approved budget for Y2017 and Y2020, analysis of payment made to non-pensionable staff in Y2017-Y2019.

See also  Pirates attack oil facilities in Bayelsa, kill 3, kidnap 7

The lawmaker said other relevant documents to be provided were analysis of recurrent expenditure from June to December 2017- 2020.

According to him, others are the bank statements of accounts as of December 31, 2018, and all outstanding queries in the 2019 statutory report.

Fatai said officials expected at the exercise were the chairmen of each local government, the vice chairmen, leader of the council, executive members, council managers, council treasurers and head of departments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *