NNPC pushes out senior management executives


Sopuruchi Onwuka

Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Limited has begun a purge in the management cadre of its staff, weeding out all management personnel who are close to retirement.

According to a statement on the company’s X handle, those affected in the compulsory retirement are to in the final 15 months to their statutory retirement. And the haste of pushing out those already working on their retirement has kept industry observers wondering about the latest intrigues playing in the national oil company.

The statement shared on the company’s X handle explained the move on the need to boost business objectives and strategic operations, scale up capabilities through targeted talent management, and create equal opportunity for all Nigerians.

The company was emphatic that the compulsory retirement takes immediate effect from today; a process described by corporate pundits as dismissal.

 “In our bid to pursue effective organisational renewal to support the delivery of our strategic business objectives, it has become imperative to rejuvenate our workforce.

“Consequently, in addition to the recent exit of three Executive Vice Presidents, other management staff with less than 15 months to statutory retirement will be exiting the company effective September 19, 2023.

“This is in line with our commitment to scale up NNPC Ltd.’s capabilities through targeted talent management and equal opportunity for all Nigerians,” the statement reads.

Perhaps what is not stated in the statement is an accompanying restructuring and mass transfers of senior management executives across all the strategic business units of the company and its non operated ventures. The dispersal of top management personnel, it was gathered, involved and affected top management personnel.

The new shakeup is sequel to compulsory retirement of the company’s three former Executive Vice Presidents, including Abdulkabir Ahmed of Gas, Power and New Energies Division; Engr Adokiye Tombomieye of Upstream Division; and Adeyemi Adetunji of the Downstream Division.

In their replacement, three EVPs were appointed: Oritsemeyiwa Eyesan for the Upstream Division, Olalekan Ogunleye for Gas, Power, and New Energy Divison; and Adedapo Segun for the Downstream Division.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.