Seven PDP NWC members resign over Secondus’ tenure renewal bid

Seven members of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have resigned their positions with the party.

Uche Secondus National Chairman PDP

PDP’s National Organising Secretary, Colonel Austin Akobundu (rtd), who confirmed the development, Tuesday, however, added that the officials were deputies in the NWC.

It was also gathered that the officials resigned in protest over the purported second tenure bid of the National Chairman, Mr Uche Secondu, as, according to them, they cannot work with the present NWC headed by him.

Those who resigned include; the Deputy National Financial Secretary, Deputy Legal Adviser, Deputy National Auditor, Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Deputy Women Leader, and Deputy Organising Secretary.

See also  NGX begins the week on negative note as market cap declines N19.51bn

The officers, however, pledged to remain loyal to the PDP.

The resignations come ahead of the National Convention of the party scheduled for December, this year.

The party officials gave one month notice on their resignation.

However, the six officials who resigned are not members of the NWC as only the Deputy National Chairman and Deputy National Secretary function in the committee from among the group of deputies.

It would be recalled that there has been growing calls for the resignation of Secondus as National Chairman by some sections of the party hierarchy, as they accuse him of being unable to stem the tide of mass defections that has hit the PDP in less than a year.

See also  It’s criminal to accumulate debts for future generation-Obasanjo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *