Spain Women lifting the 2023 FIFA World Cup in Australia, Sunday, July 20

Spain beat England Lionesses to lift FIFA Women’s World Cup trophy


Spain Women edged out England Lionesses by 1-0 to claim their first-ever FIFA Women’s World cup trophy, Sunday morning.

Spain Women lifting the 2023 FIFA World Cup in Australia, Sunday, July 20

The 2023 Women’s World Cup tournament jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand is also the second time same country has produced champions in both the men’s and women’s FIFA World Cups following in the footsteps of Germany.

The match was played at the iconic Stadium Australia in Sydney/Wangal, early Sunday morning, Nigerian time, with Spain emerging as the fifth winner in the history of the tournament.

Olga Carmona strike from the left wing beat England goalkeeper Mary Earps in the first half to settle the scores, with the Spain Women finishing the tournament with 18 goals, the highest overall.

Spain were awarded a penalty shortly after the hour mark for a handball by midfielder Keira Walsh, however, goalkeeper Mary Earps saved Jennifer Hermoso’s spot kick by diving to her left.

England coach Sarina Wiegman made a number of changes, including bringing on forward Lauren James, but they could not find an equaliser as Spain clung on to win their first major title.

Meanwhile, after the match, FIFA President Gianni Infantino was joined on stage for the Official Awards Ceremony.

Below is the list of Official FIFA Awards for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023.

FIFA Fair Play Award presented by McDonald’s: Japan

FIFA Best Young Player Award: Salma Paralluelo (ESP)

Adidas Golden Glove Award: Mary Earps (ENG)

Adidas Golden Boot Award: Hinata Miyazawa (JPN) – 5 goals, 1 assist

Adidas Silver Boot Award: Kadidatou Diani (FRA) – 4 goals, 1 assist

Adidas Bronze Boot Award: Alexandra Popp (GER) – 4 goals

Adidas Golden Ball Award: Aitana Bonmati (ESP)

Adidas Silver Ball Award: Jennifer Hermoso (ESP)

Adidas Bronze Ball Award: Amanda Ilestedt (SWE).

Earlier, Sweden had thrashed co-hosts, Australia to claim the bronze prize.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons had crashed out in the Round of 16 stage of the tournament after losing on penalty shootouts to eventual finalist, England.

The match had ended goalless after 90 minutes regulation time, and 30 minutes of extra time, before going into penalty shootouts with the Super Falcons losing by 4-2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.