UNIZIK Offers Automatic Employment to 20 Medical Graduands

87 0
  • 5

By Oge Onyeanusi Nnewi

The Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital, NAUTH, Nnewi, Anambra State, has offered automatic employment to twenty new medical doctors, who graduated from the Faculty of Medicine of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, NAU.

The Chief Medical Director (CMD) of the hospital, Prof. Anthony Igwegbe, announced the offer during the 44th induction ceremony, held at the Metu Uzodike Auditorium, NAUTH Premesis, Nnewi, on Saturday, October 27, where 60 new medical graduands of the institution were inducted into the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria.

The CMD said the automatic employment was for 20 best graduands in the 2018 set. The lucky graduands, in order of merit, according to him, include Nweke Collins Olisaemeka, Nriagu Valentine Chisom, Ebubechukwu Jerome Ugochukwu, Ugwu Donatus Obiora, Alexander Amuche Kizzy, Omah Chinelo Edith, Ojekwu Adeze Chidinma, Egwuonwu Temple Chinomso, Onyeanuforo Cynthia Otito, Mokwuo Ikenna Michael, Makachi Patrick Oluchukwu, Nwaneki Chisom Marcellus, Ubah Chiedu John, Orji Angela Ezinna, Okwuosa Chizoba Ndidiamaka, Chidozie Chiamaka Perpetual, Ugwueze Chimezirim, Nwanku Ofobuike Ngwute, Nwafor Arinze Maduabuchukwu and Igboanugo Charles Uche.

He congratulated the new medical doctors; especially those that got the automatic employment as well as their parents for what he called dream come true for them; and charged them to strive for excellence as they go into the field of practice.

Earlier in his remarks, the Vice-Chancellor of the university, Prof. Joseph Ahaneku, who said the university’s medical school is rated high all over the world, urged the new medical doctors to go into the professional practice in the spirit of the Hippocratic Oath they have sworn; strengthened by the sound training they have received in character and in learning; and imbued by its core values of discipline, self-reliance and excellence.

The Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Prof. Gerald Udigwe, in his own remarks, urged the new physicians to present good image of themselves and of their Alma Mater, NAU, wherever they go; and to give back to all those who played major roles in their lives and their training.

Highpoint of the ceremony was distribution of awards to outstanding graduands, who distinguished themselves in specific areas of medicine.

In the award category, Nweke Collins Olisaemeka, who was decorated as Overall Best Graduating Student, also garnered awards as Best Student in 3rd MB, Best Student in 5th MB, Prof. F.E Emelie Best Student in Pathology, Dr. Dozie Ikedife Medal for Overall Best Student, and Prof. J.K.C Emejulu Prize for Best Student in Surgery.

Ebubechukwu Jerome Ugochukwu bagged award as Best Student in 2nd MB, while Ugwu Donatus Obiorah got Prof. Joseph Ikechebelu Prize for Best Student in Obstetrics and Gynecology.

In a related development, Nriagu Valentine Chisom emerged Best Student in 4th MB and Chief Cletus Ibeto Prize for Best Student in Paediatrics; just as Alexander Amuche Kizzy bagged Dr. Echee Adinma Prize for Best Student in Community Medicine; as well as Dr. Echee Adinma Prize for Best Female Graduand.

Omah Chinelo Edith got Chicason Prize for Best Student in Ophthalmology, as well as Ophthalmological Society of Nigeria Prize for Best Student in Ophthalmology


  • 5
In this article